Wednesday, July 3, 2013

UCPN (Maoist) likely to create separate body for retirees

KATHMANDU, July 2: The chiefs of state committees of the UCPN (Maoist) on Tuesday urged the party leadership to form a separate body for leaders who voluntarily resign from their posts.

During the meeting held at Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal´s office in Paris Danda, the chiefs of state committees also suggested to form party organization in line with the idea envisioned by the Hetauda general convention. The suggestion to form a separate body has been made following the resignation of party vice-chairman Baburam Bhattarai.

The resignation of Bhattarai as the vice chairman has also diffused the dispute over power sharing in the party.
Chairman Dahal has called a party plenum for July 19 in Kathmandu to resolve the dispute over power sharing.
Dahal had called state committee chiefs for a meeting on Tuesday to seek their suggestions over the organizational setup of the party. The proposed organizational setup of the party, including the dispute over nomination of the office bearers and members of the central committee (CC) and standing committee and politburo, would be presented in the plenum.

“Party members have suggested formation of a separate body to accommodate leaders who voluntarily resign from their party positions,” Bishwa Bhakta Dulal, chief of the Tamsaling state committee, told Republica.
Debendra Paudel, chief of the Newa state committee, said that the discussions in this regard are under way. He argued that the separate body will be useful for safeguarding the ideological spirit of the party. Paudel who is close to Bhattarai said that the separate body is not for only Bhattarai and that the latter can remain active even without such a body.

CPN-UML has named Madhav Nepal as a senior party leader, but he enjoys the second rank in the party. Maoist leaders say that Bhattarai could be given a similar position in the party.

The Hetauda general convention of the party had elected Dahal as the party chairman, Bhattarai and Narayankaji Shrestha as vice-chairmen and Post Bahadur Bogati as the general secretary. Dahal had also proposed Hisila Yami as the party treasurer and Krishna Bahadur Mahara, Barshaman Pun, Top Bahadur Rayamajhi and Giriraj Mani Pokharel as secretaries. The chiefs of state committees have also asked Dahal to revise the names of office bearers.  

from Republica

No comments:

Post a Comment