Thursday, April 18, 2013

CPN-Maoist forms jumbo CC


KATHMANDU, April 16: Following the footsteps of its mother party UCPN (Maoist), CPN-Maoist has finally formed a jumbo central committee (CC) four months after the general convention.

A CC meeting held at the party office on Monday formed a 151-member CC with 101 new faces. The general convention of the party held in January had formed a 43-member CC mandating the body to nominate additional eight members.

All the 101 new members will remain as alternative CC members. After nomination the eight more members, the jumbo central committee of the party will have a total of 151 members.

The UCPN (Maoist) had also formed a 251-member CC.

“There will be 51 full-members in the central committee and the remaining will be alternative CC members,” said party politburo member Kul Prasad KC. Maoist leaders claimed that the party formed a jumbo CC to ensure representation of groups within the party.

Among others, editor of Janadisha daily Kumar Shah, writers and cultural front leaders Ishwar Chandra Gyanwali, Rishi Raj Baral, Maila Lama, trade union chief Ramdeep Acharya, people´s volunteer chief Uday Bahadur Chalaune, teacher wing chief Guna Raj Lohani and Tara Gharti Magar have been nominated as alternative CC members.

“The central committee took a jumbo shape as senior leaders wanted all their near and dear ones to be nominated as members,” said a leader.

The central committee meeting of the party had started Wednesday last week.

Each state committee had recommended around 11 names for the post of new CC members. The party has 14 state committees. Maoist had set three-point criteria for nomination of new CC members - party´s necessity, seniority and capacity of candidates.
from Republica

No comments:

Post a Comment