Sunday, August 5, 2012

UCPN (Maoist) general convention from Jan 27

KATHMANDU, Aug 5 : The ruling UCPN (Maoist) on Saturday announced that the party´s general convention would be held from January 27.

The party has not held any general convention for the last 22 years. The party had also failed to hold the general convention announced two years ago.
The party, however, is yet to fix the venue for the general convention. The party also announced a major reshuffling of party responsibilities, the first since the party split.

Important responsibilities in the party are held by leaders close to Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

All bureau in-charge and the party spokesperson have been chosen from among former standing committee members. While Shakti Basnet and Haribol Gajurel, who were former politburo members, have been promoted as in-charge of far-western bureau and Madhes bureau respectively, Agni Sapkota has been appointed party spokesperson. Similarly, Dahal´s confident Krishna Bahadur Mahara has been appointed chief of the party´s organization department, which is considered an important wing of the party.
"Former politburo members will now be given the responsibility of state committees," said Bishwabhakta Dulal, newly appointed coordinator of the Tamsaling State Committee.

The factions led by Vice-chairmen Baburam Bhattarai and Narayankaji Shrestha have been allocated two important state committees of a total of 13 committees. Bhattarai faction has been demanding 40 percent share in the party organization.

Of all the state committees, Newa and Tamsaling state committees are considered the most important. Prime Minister Bhattarai´s political advisor and Abadh state committee coordinator Debendra Paudel has been appointed Newa committee in-charge. This post was vacant after Hitman Shakya joined the breakaway CPN-Maoist.

Similarly, Bishwabhakta Dulal close to vice chairman Shrestha has replaced Agni Sapkota as the in-charge of Tamsaling State Committee considered the most lucrative.

Bhattarai faction had been demanding Newa and Tamsaling state committees.

Similarly, another important state committee is Magarat. Rolpa and Rukum which were the bases of the Maoists during the people´s war lie in this state. The party has nominated Lokendra Bista Magar as the coordinator of the committee replacing Hemanta Prakash Oli. Both are close to Dahal.

Likewise, Tamuwan chief Dilaram Acharya has replaced Hitaraj Pande, while Nabaraj Subedi has been appointed Tharuwan in-charge.

Similarly, Hemant Prakash Oli has been appointed Limbuwan coordinator, Lila Bahadur Thapa Magar Kirat in-charge, Gopal Kirati Kochila coordinator, Chandra Prakash Khanal Abadh coordinator, Bhim Prakash Gautam Mithila coordinator and Bishwanath Sah Bhojpura coordinator.

Similarly, Giridharilal Nyaupane has been appointed Seti-Mahakali coordinator, Lekharaj Bhatta Bheri-Karnali coordinator.

Likewise, Hitaraj Pande has been appointed chief of the finance department while Nanda Kishor Pun has been appointed chief of youth and former PLA. Ram Karki has been appointed foreign bureau in-charge.
from Republica

No comments:

Post a Comment